Spain joins European initiative, Fakeshare, in the fight against illegal online medicines

“Do you really know what you are buying?” This is the new Spanish Agency of Medicines and Medical Devices (AEMPS) public awareness campaign slogan to warn about the health risks of buying online medicines from illegal internet sites. This joint initiative is supported by other European agencies whose aim is to increase health authority commitment in the fight against fake health products. A European website is also available: http://www.fakeshare.eu/es/

Source: aemps.gob.es

Fake doctor arrested in Ghana for illegally practicing for 20 years

A fake doctor, who was operating a healthcare facility, Covenant Clinic, in unhygienic conditions, was arrested during a special exercise by the Medical and Dental Council’s investigative team with police assistance. The clinic was closed after he was unable to provide certificates proving he was a certified doctor. A search conducted at the facility revealed that medicines were incorrectly stored and labeled, that a large quantity of used pregnancy test kits and syringes were stored in a room and that the instruments were sterilized using boiling water only.

Source: ghanaweb.com

Another fake plastic surgeon arrested for manslaughter after injecting lethal illegal products in Florida

A Venezuelan man presenting himself as doctor living in Florida was arrested in Miami for manslaughter and for practicing unlicensed medicine which resulted in death. He is accused of injecting a 28-year-old patient with an oily and yellow substance. The man was working in a place which was licensed as a massage parlor yet advertised on Facebook that it employed licensed plastic surgeons. Other deaths have been linked to unlicensed plastic surgery practices in this place.

Source: miamiherald.com

Some local Jamaican laboratories would voluntarily flout medicine production rules in their factories

The Ministry of Health said it has evidence that some local pharmaceutical companies are engaged in unethical practices, they would mislead consumers by changing the expiry dates of medicines. According to the article, they would also reduce the number of active ingredients in their products. Reports have been made that substandard chemical and pharmaceutical products, such as antibiotic skin ointments, cough syrups, and disinfectants, are being dispensed on the local market. The Health Minister is focusing on the means to regulate this sector.

Source: jamaica-gleaner.com

United Arab Emirates warns against online non authorized medicines advertising

Global illegal advertising, through social networking platforms, is expected to reach $11bn in 2017.  According to officials in Dubai, around 715 online advertisements for illegal health products were monitored by the ministry in 2015. In general, these are advertisements that promote treatments and medicines which have not been approved by health authorities. The illegal medicines include herbal medicines, sex stimulants, fat-burning medicines and medicines for diabetes. Text messages were recently circulated throughout the UAE claiming that natural herbs could cure cancer.

Source: khaleejtimes.com

L’Espagne rejoint l’initiative européenne « Fakeshare » pour lutter contre la vente de médicaments sur des sites internet illégaux

« Savez-vous vraiment ce que vous achetez? ». Tel est le slogan de la nouvelle campagne de l’Agence espagnole des médicaments et des produits de santé (AEMPS) pour sensibiliser le public aux risques pour la santé liés à l’achat de médicaments sur des sites internet illégaux. Le but de cette initiative conjointe, suivie par d’autres agences européennes, est de renforcer l’engagement des autorités sanitaires dans la protection contre la falsification des produits de santé. Un site d’information européen est également disponible : http://www.fakeshare.eu/es/

Source : aemps.gob.es

Arrestation d’un faux directeur de clinique, pour exercice illégal de la médecine pendant plus de 20 ans au Ghana

Le faux médecin, qui exploitait l’établissement  «Convenant Clinic », dans des conditions insalubres, a été arrêté au cours d’un exercice spécial mené par l’équipe d’enquête du Conseil médical et dentaire, avec l’aide de la police. Ne pouvant produire les certificats prouvant qu’il était un médecin agréé  la clinique a été fermée. Les investigations menées au sein de « Convenant Clinic » ont montré que les médicaments n’étaient pas correctement conservés et étiquetés, qu’une grande quantité de kits de test de grossesse et de seringues usagées étaient stockées dans une chambre et que la stérilisation des instruments se faisait uniquement grâce à un peu d’eau bouillante.

Source : ghanaweb.com

Nouvelle arrestation d’un faux plasticien pour homicide involontaire après injection de produits illégaux à une patiente en Floride

Un Vénézuélien se présentant comme médecin installé en Floride, a été arrêté à Miami pour homicide involontaire et pratique illégale de la médecine ayant entrainé la mort après avoir procédé à l’injection d’un produit illégal « jaune et huileux » à une patiente de 28 ans. L’homme exerçait dans un établissement qui, alors qu’il n’avait qu’un permis pour exercer comme  salon de massage, annonçait sur sa page Facebook employer des chirurgiens plasticiens certifiés. Cet établissement serait impliqué dans d’autres cas de décès liés à de mauvaises pratiques de la chirurgie esthétique.

Source : miamiherald.com

Certains laboratoires jamaïcains falsifieraient volontairement les médicaments produits dans leurs usines

Le ministère de la Santé confirme qu’il y a des preuves concernant les activités frauduleuses de certaines sociétés pharmaceutiques locales : celles-ci modifieraient les dates d’expiration des médicaments. Selon l’article, elles aussi réduiraient le nombre d’ingrédients actifs dans leurs produits, trompant les consommateurs. Des rapports montrent que des produits chimiques et des produits pharmaceutiques de qualité inférieure tels que des pommades antibiotiques, des sirops contre la toux et des désinfectants ont été distribués sur le marché local. Le ministre de la santé travaillerait sur la façon d’améliorer le cadre général de la réglementation du secteur.

Source : jamaica-gleaner.com

Les Emirats Arabes Unis alertent sur la dangerosité des annonces en ligne vantant des médicaments non autorisés

Le marché mondial de la publicité illégale par le biais des réseaux sociaux pourrait atteindre 11 milliards $ en 2017. Selon les autorités dubaïottes, 715 publicités en ligne pour des produits de santé illégaux ont été repérées par le ministère en 2015. Il s’agit généralement  de publicités qui font la promotion de traitements et de médicaments qui ne sont pas approuvés par les autorités de santé. Parmi ces produits illégaux : des médicaments à base de plantes, des stimulants sexuels, des traitements amaigrissants mais aussi des antidiabétiques. Récemment, des textos ont été envoyés dans tous les Émirats arabes unis alléguant que des herbes naturelles pouvaient guérir le cancer.

Source : khaleejtimes.com