UK : COVID-19: decrease in GP visits but online medicine purchases on the rise

Phil Lewis, director general of the Anti-Counterfeiting Group (ACG), says the trend of buying prescription-based medicines over the internet is worrying given the dramatic fall in visits to general practitioners in the UK for routine consultations during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Data shows that the total number of appointments recorded in GP practice systems fell from 6m, at the beginning of March, to 4.25m by the end of that month – a reduction of almost 30 per cent. “This has happened at a time when large organized gangs, operating across the world have turned their attention to online crime” said Lewis. “They use sophisticated websites, social media and e-commerce platforms to advertise products using fake trademarks, brand names and certification labels to try and convince customers they’re buying genuine, safe products.”

Source : www.securingindustry.com

Australia : Fake hepatic medicines identified in Australia and other countries

In March fake vials of DEFIBROTIDE 200mg displaying batch number 0286 were identified in Australia. One month later, fake vials of DEFIBROTIDE 200mg vials had also been supplied to Saudi Arabia and Latvia, displaying batch number 0286 and 0126.
DEFIBROTIDE is used to treat hepatic veno-occlusive disease, in which the blood vessels in the liver become damaged and obstructed by blood clots. This can be caused by treatments prior to a stem cell transplantation. Laboratory analyses established that these fake products do not contain any of the expected active ingredient. The solution in the vials is also thought to be contaminated by mold.

Source : www.who.int

Cameroon : Fake batch of antimalarial medicine identified

The Minister of Public Health has issued a warning that a batch of fake Coartem is in circulation:
“The batch in question is ‘F2261 Coartem 20mg/120mg, tablets, Box of 30 x 24 tablets’”. Screening results reveal that the fake medicine does not contain antimalarial medicine but sildenafil (an aphrodisiac) and Ciprofloxacin (an antibiotic). The Minister also warned that “the original product is only sold in packs of 30 sachets and not in loose form”.

Source : www.237online.com

US : Another fake coronavirus medicines seized

Customs and Border Protection officers (CPB) in Pennsylvania recently seized Linhua Qingwen capsules. Linhua Qingwen is commonly used for the prevention and treatment of viral influenza in China. It is composed of 11 herbs, gypsum, menthol, and more. The capsules are being sold as a treatment for COVID-19, but their effectiveness is unknown.
Since March 23, CBP officers at the Area Ports of Philadelphia, Baltimore and Washington, and the Ports of Harrisburg and Pittsburgh, completed 18 seizures that collectively included:

– more than 1,350 unapproved and counterfeit COVID-19 test kits;
– nearly 400 counterfeit N95 respirator masks;
– nearly 2,500 unapproved and potentially counterfeit medicines, including Hydroxychloroquine Sulfate, Chloroquine, Azithromycin, Lianhua Qingwen and Liushen Jiaonang;
– and more than 67,000 counterfeit ACCU-CHEK test strips.

These products were shipped from manufacturers and distributors in China, Hong Kong, South Korea, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Nigeria, Senegal, Germany and the United Kingdom and were destined to addresses in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Virginia, Connecticut, and Florida.

Source : www.news.yahoo.com

Morocco : Two men arrested for official document fraud and unlicensed medicines trafficking

Two individuals, one of whom is a repeat offender, were arrested in a case involving usurpation of office, use of fake official documents and trafficking unlicensed medical and paramedical equipment. Officials noticed an advert on Facebook for alleged abortion medicines and then launched an investigation in several towns in Morocco. The first suspect was arrested in Tangier. The second suspect, the main supplier, pretended to be a gynecologist and was found to have 171 medical devices, boxes of medicines, and fake prescriptions, etc., in his possession. Police also seized proof of money transfers sent by potential victims in Morocco and a computer and printer used to create fake documents.

Source : www.lematin.ma

Royaume-Uni : COVID-19 : Moins de visites chez le médecin mais plus d’achats de médicaments sur internet

Phil Lewis, directeur général du groupe anti-contrefaçon (ACG), dit que la tendance à acheter des médicaments sur ordonnance sur internet est inquiétante. En effet, les visites chez le médecin ont connu une chute spectaculaire au Royaume-Uni pendant la pandémie de COVID-19.
Les données montrent que le nombre total de rendez-vous enregistrés est tombé de 6 millions au début du mois de mars à 4,25 millions à la fin de ce mois – une réduction de près de 30%. « Cela s’est produit à un moment où de grands gangs organisés, opérant à travers le monde, ont tourné leur attention vers la criminalité en ligne », a déclaré Lewis. « Ils utilisent des sites Web sophistiqués, des médias sociaux et des plateformes de commerce électronique pour faire la publicité de produits en utilisant de fausses marques de commerce, des noms de marque et des logos de certification pour essayer de convaincre les clients qu’ils achètent des produits authentiques et sûrs.

Source : www.securingindustry.com

Australie : Un traitement hépatique falsifié découvert en Australie et dans d’autres pays

En mars, des flacons de 200mg de DEFIBROTIDE falsifiés font été identifiés en Australie, affichant le numéro de lot 0286. Un mois plus tard, d’autres flacons de DEFIBROTIDE 200MG falsifiés, affichant les numéros de lots 0286 et 0126, ont également été découverts en Arabie Saoudite puis en Lettonie.
Le DEFIBROTIDE est utilisé dans la prise en charge de maladies veino-occlusives hépatiques, dans laquelle les vaisseaux sanguins du foie sont endommagés et obstrués par des caillots sanguins. Des analyses en laboratoire ont établi que les produits falsifiés ne contenaient aucun principe actif. La solution contenue dans les flacons serait en plus contaminée par des moisissures.

Source : www.who.int

Cameroun : Découverte d’un lot d’antipaludiques falsifiés

Le ministre de la Santé Publique a alerté la population suite à la découverte d’un lot de Coartem falsifié.
« Il s’agit du lot F2261 du « Coartem 20mg/120mg, comprimés, Boite de 30 fois 24 ». Les résultats des analyses montrent que le faux médicament ne contient pas d’antipaludique mais du sildénafil (un aphrodisiaque) et de la ciprofloxacine (un antibiotique). Par ailleurs, « le produit original n’est commercialisé qu’en pack de 30 pochettes et non en vrac », a déclaré le ministre.

Source : www.237online.com

Etats-Unis : Nouvelle saisie de médicaments contre le coronavirus illicites

Des capsules de « Linhua Qingwen » couramment utilisé pour la prévention et le traitement de la grippe virale en Chine et composé de 11 herbes, de gypse, de menthol etc, ont été saisies par les douanes de Pennsylvanie. Ces traitements sont vendus pour traiter le COVID-19, mais leur efficacité n’est pas prouvée.
Depuis le 23 mars, les agents du CBP dans les ports de Philadelphie, Baltimore et Washington, et dans les ports de Harrisburg et Pittsburgh, ont effectué 18 saisies qui comprenaient collectivement :

– plus de 1 350 kits de test COVID-19 non approuvés et contrefaits;
– près de 400 masques respiratoires N95 contrefaits;
– près de 2 500 médicaments non approuvés et potentiellement contrefaits, notamment le sulfate d’hydroxychloroquine, la chloroquine, l’azithromycine, Lianhua Qingwen et Liushen Jiaonang;
– et plus de 67 000 bandelettes réactives ACCU-CHEK contrefaites.

Ces produits ont été expédiés par des fabricants et des distributeurs en Chine, à Hong Kong, en Corée du Sud, en Turquie, en Arabie saoudite, au Nigéria, au Sénégal, en Allemagne et au Royaume-Uni et étaient destinés à des adresses en Pennsylvanie, au New Jersey, au Delaware, en Virginie, au Connecticut et en Floride.

Source : www.news.yahoo.com

Maroc : Deux hommes arrêtés pour falsification de documents officiels et trafic de médicaments sans licence

Deux individus, dont un récidiviste, ont été interpellés dans une affaire d’usurpation de fonction, d’usage de faux documents officiels et de trafic de matériel médical et paramédical sans licence. Les autorités avaient repéré une publication diffusée sur Facebook, faisant la promotion de médicaments prétendument utilisés pour l’avortement. Cette publication a conduit à l’ouverture d’une enquête dans plusieurs villes marocaines puis à l’arrestation à Tanger du premier suspect. Le second suspect, principal fournisseur, se faisait passer pour un gynécologue obstétricien. Il avait en sa possession 171 équipements utilisés à des fins médicales, des boites de médicaments, des ordonnances falsifiées, etc. Des preuves de virements bancaires en provenance de victimes potentielles dans plusieurs villes du Royaume ainsi qu’un ordinateur et une imprimante utilisés dans la falsification des documents ont également été saisis.

Source : www.lematin.ma